POLLS     NHL     SEARCH

TRENDING NOW


Bruins defenseman gets away with clear hit to the head on David Kampf


PUBLICATION
Mike Armenti
May 3, 2024  (8:54)
SHARE THIS STORY
FOLLOW US




Charlie McAvoy drills David Kampf in the head
Photo credit: Sportsnet

Maple Leafs forward David Kampf took an illegal check to the head from Charlie McAvoy, with the officials refusing to call a penalty on the play.

This is one that anyone could have seen coming after the Leafs had been awarded the first two power play opportunities in the game. The officials refused to call a penalty, even though it was clearly warranted. Here's the play in question.
Yes, Kampf was reaching forward to poke the puck through, but the onus is on the hitter to recognize when his opponent is in a vulnerable position. In Kampf's case, he was always going to take the brunt of that hit to the head, so I'm not quite sure what McAvoy was thinking. I'm even more baffled that the referee opted to allow the play to continue.
Kampf was noticeably shaken up on the play and was bloodied on the bench. It will be interesting to see if Player Safety has anything to say about this one.
POLL
3 MAI   |   533 ANSWERS
Bruins defenseman gets away with clear hit to the head on David Kampf

Does Charlie McAvoy deserve to be suspended for his head shot on David Kampf?

Yes42679.9 %
No529.8 %
Maybe a fine5510.3 %
LIST OF POLLS
Latest 10 stories

MAPLELEAFSDAILY.COM
COPYRIGHT @2024 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
TERMS  -  POLICIES  -  CONSENT